Cricket starts on July 11; 2020 transfers

  • Trading places: Allan Douglas, right, is heading west to play for Southampton Rangers in this abbreviated 2020 season, while Ricardo Brangman heads in the other direction for St Davidís (File photograph by Lawrence Trott)

The Bermuda Cricket Board has confirmed that the season will make a belated start on July 11, with the format restricted to Twenty20 at four venues.

St Davidís County Cricket Club, St Georgeís Cricket Club, Somerset Bridge Recreation Club (White Hill Field) and Somerset Cricket Club will be the venues, and the season is scheduled to end on September 6.

Because of the Covid-19 pandemic, rules and regulations set out by the Government and the BCB will be enforced at the grounds before, during and after match play with a view to keeping players, officials and spectators as safe as possible.

These rules will be circulated on July 3.

Lloyd Smith, the BCB president, said: ďWe are excited to announce the commencement of the 2020 domestic league and wish to thank all clubs, the Ministry of Health, the Department of Youth, Sport and Recreation, and other officials for their co-operation during this time, ensuring that we are able to move forward and operate using best practices as per the guidelines and requirements.Ē

The BCB also announced the final transfer list, with Bermuda players Allan Douglas Jr, Derrick Brangman and Macai Simmons prominent among the minimal activity.

Douglas has left St Davidís to join Southampton Rangers, Brangman has departed Baileyís Bay for St Davidís and Simmons, the former St Georgeís Cup Match captain, leaves St Davidís after one season to return to Wellington Oval.

The other notable moves feature St Davidís, who have attracted veteran wicketkeeper-batsman Ricardo Brangman from Southampton and Warwick fast bowler Chare Smith.

2020 transfers

Somerset Bridge

Adrian Burrows (from Cleveland County)

Somerset Cricket Club

Dajon Richardson (Warwick)

Southampton Rangers Sports Club

Allan Douglas Jr (St Davidís)

Deunte Darrell* (Willow Cuts)

St Davidís County Cricket Club

Derrick Brangman (Baileyís Bay)

Ricardo Brangman (Southampton Rangers)

Chare Smith (Warwick)

St Georgeís Cricket Club

Burton Outerbridge (Baileyís Bay)

Drewonde Bascome (Devonshire Recreation Club)

Macai Simmons (St Davidís)

* Completion of special transfer allowed in 2019