West, Walikraam enjoy long walk to glory

  • Wire to wire: Eric West won the Bermuda Stroke Play Championships by 14 strokes (Photograph by Akil Simmons)
  • Eric West on the greens (Photograph by Akil Simmons)
  • Just champion: Eric West (Photograph supplied)
  • Tariqah Walikraam was in a class of her own in the womenís division of the Bermuda Stroke Play Championships, winning by 18 strokes (Photograph by Akil Simmons)
  • Tariqah Walikraam on the greens (Photograph by Akil Simmons)
  • Just champion: Tariqah Walikraam (Photograph supplied)
  • Senior menís division champion Calvin Hendrickson (Photograph by Akil Simmons)
  • Senior menís division runner-up Colin James (Photograph by Akil Simmons)

Eric West and Tariqah Walikraam emerged from the first competitive golf since the coronavirus pandemic with runaway victories in the Bermuda Stroke Play Championships, which concluded at Port Royal Golf Course yesterday.

Both had done the hard work on Saturday by virtually lapping their fields before going on 18-hole coronations.

West, in particular, had reason to feel pleased with himself after opening a 12-stroke lead on defending champion Jarryd Dillas in the second round. And despite coming back to earth with a six-over-par 77 yesterday, after a blistering, six-birdie 66 on Saturday, West still managed to win the tournament by 14 strokes with an overall total of one-over 214.

Dillas got progressively worse with each round, as he followed up 73 and 76 on Friday and Saturday with 79 yesterday.

Jevon Roberts and Will Haddrell were joint third on 232, with Spencer Wideman fifth on 236.

Walikraam had it even easier in the womenís field, her 79 to close out a commanding, 18-stroke triumph proving to be her best round of the tournament.

Anne OíNeill carded an 86 to make up the overnight stagger on Katrin Burnie and Katyna Rabain to nick the runner-up spot.

The one proper contest going in the final day was in the senior menís division, but Calvin Hendrickson, who started yesterday with a three-stroke lead, put his contest with Colin James to bed shortly after the turn.

Hendrickson added to his advantage by two strokes on the front nine, but when James went double bogey, bogey, triple bogey between Nos 12 and 14, it was all over.

Hendrickson responded with birdie, par, par ó the seven-stroke swing mirroring the championís advantage on the day, a round of 73 to Jamesís 80.

The senior womenís championship went to Anne OíNeill, while Matthew Durrant took the menís first flight.

Final scores