Bermuda bridges to be celebrated on stamps

  • A stamp depicting the Bridge at Norwood (Image provided)
  • A stamp depicting the Causeway (Image provided)
  • A stamp depicting Flatts Bridge (Image provided)
  • A stamp depicting Watford Bridge (Image provided)

Bermuda’s latest batch of commemorative stamps will highlight the island’s historic bridges.

The stamp series, the first of 2020, will feature Watford Bridge, Flatts Bridge, the Bridge at Norwood and the Causeway.

Wayne Furbert, the Minister for the Cabinet Office, said: “Bermuda’s bridges are unique landmarks, which reflect the history and culture of our island. Our infrastructure, especially our roads and bridges played a vital role in the social development and economic growth for all Bermudians.

“For our 21 square miles, we have more than 40 bridges, and the BPO is pleased to offer this stamp series featuring four very striking images of some of Bermuda’s iconic bridges.”

While the Perot Post Office and the General Post Office letter floor remain closed, the stamps can be bought from sub-post offices around the island.

The original Watford Bridge, which connected Somerset Island to Watford Island, was first commissioned in 1903.

It was replaced in 1957, which in turn was replaced by the current bridge in 1983.

Flatts Bridge was built in 1966, replacing a previous stationary bridge across Flatts Inlet erected between 1871 and 1877. Before 1871, a wooden footbridge — capable of opening for boat traffic — had been used to cross the inlet.

The Bridge at Norwood was a small Pembroke footbridge featured in numerous postcards of the island in the early 1900s.

The original Causeway was completed in 1871, linking Longbird Island to Blue Hole Hill over Castle Harbour.

Longbird Island was later joined with St David’s Island and Cooper’s Island as part of the construction of the Kindley Field Air Force Base.