Arch’s Iordanou honoured by St John’s

  • Recognised: Constantine

Constantine “Dinos” Iordanou has been named Insurance Leader of the Year by St John’s University’s School of Risk Management.

The chairman and chief executive officer of Bermudian-based insurer and reinsurer Arch Capital Group, will receive the honour on Wednesday of next week during an awards dinner at the Marriott Marquis in New York.

“The Insurance Leader of the Year accolade is traditionally awarded to an industry leader for distinguished achievement over a long career, or for special achievement in the year of recognition,” said Kevin Kelley, CEO of Bermudian insurer Ironshore, and chairman of the SRM Board of Overseers.

“Dinos Iordanou has been a colleague, friend and competitor for a long time. He is an exceptional leader who has built a great franchise at Arch.

“He is smart, tough — and generous. It took diligence, patience and a lot of skill to build Arch into a major institution. Dinos has shown our industry that he is ‘The Real Deal’ — and without question deserves the Insurance Leader honour this year.”

SRM is part of the Peter J. Tobin College of Business.

Serving as honorary chairmen for the awards dinner will be Brian Duperreault, CEO of AIG; Marc Grandisson, chief operating officer of Arch Capital; Patrick Ryan, founder and chairman of Ryan Specialty Group, LLC; and Joseph Taranto, chairman of Everest Re Group.

Proceeds of the dinner will support the University’s SRM students and programmes.

The Insurance Leader of the Year award has been presented annually since 1995. It recognises the contributions of outstanding individuals whose leadership in the worldwide insurance and financial services industry sets them apart from their peers.

Last year’s recipient was Tony Markel, vice-chairman of Markel Corporation.