Concacaf announce Under-15 details

Concacaf have officially announced the divisions, groups and match schedule for their Under-15 Championship, set to be the largest Concacaf tournament ever, including 39 teams and more than 700 youth players at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida.

Bermuda take part in Group C of Division Two and face Martinique on Monday, with a noon kick-off Bermuda time, El Salvador at 10am on Tuesday and Cuba at 10am on Thursday.

“The size and scope of this tournament will ensure all 39 of the participating Concacaf Member Associations and their young players obtain a tremendous amount of valuable experience,” Concacaf general secretary Philippe Moggio said.

“The partnership with IMG Academy and the unique division-structured format of the competition provides for the best developmental opportunities for hundreds of players and coaches from countries stretching from north to south of our Confederation.”

Participating teams will be divided into division play in which all 39 teams are guaranteed a maximum amount of competitive matches throughout the week.

The structure includes three separate divisions, with seeding based on each team’s performance over the last three editions of the Concacaf Under-17 Men’s Championship, as well as qualifying for that event. Within each division, the participating teams have been divided into groups of four teams (with one group of three) for round-robin play.

The top two teams from each of the two Division One groups, after group stage matches have been completed, will qualify for the semi-finals with the final on Thursday.

Division Two — including Bermuda — and Division Three teams will continue play, according to their ranking after group play and their subsequent results, through the last match-day to determine final tournament positions.


Division One

Group A Mexico, Honduras, Jamaica, Panama

Group B United States, Canada, Costa Rica, Trinidad & Tobago

Division Two

Group C Cuba, El Salvador, Bermuda, Martinique

Group D Haiti, Nicaragua, Dominican Republic, Curacao

Group E Barbados, Guadeloupe, Puerto Rico

Group F St Lucia, Suriname, Guyana, St Kitts & Nevis

Division Three

Group G Aruba, Cayman Islands, Bonaire, Saint Martin

Group H Antigua & Barbuda, Grenada, Dominica, Sint Maarten

Group I Bahamas, US Virgin Islands, French Guiana, St. Vincent & The Grenadines

Group J British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Montserrat, Turks & Caicos Islands